Tags

, ,


Tuna mix is a speciality of my fabulous cousins, who are renowned for being capable of drinking the vinegar from the caper jar and living off tuna mix for months on end. I don’t pretend my version is anywhere near as good (simply because I made it, not them), but this made an excellent lunchbox meal on Monday. I made two tins of tuna worth because I had it for lunch with my sister on Sunday, so this could be a bit excessive for a solo lunchbox, though you could then have tomorrow’s lunch sorted as well.

If you like your tuna mix more or less strong, fiddle about with the quantities of tabasco, garlic, caper juice, lemon, mayonnaise etc to suit your own tastes. The quantities are meant as guidelines.

Ingredient line-up

2 tins tuna (in brine or oil – whatever you prefer)

3-4 cloves crushed garlic

4 tablespoons mayonnaise

2-3 tablespoons capers

juice of half a lemon

a goodly sprinkling of Tabasco Sauce

salt and pepper to season

a drizzle of caper vinegar if you are so inclined

Drain the tuna and break it up in a bowl with a fork to get it into more manageable little hunks and combine it with the rest of the ingredients.

Taste it to see if you want to alter any flavours. This is great spooned into pitta pockets or in a wrap; I packed my tuna mix and pitta bread into the lunchbox separately, so that when lunch time came around on Monday, the bread wasn’t soggy.

Look at the teeney bottle of Tabasco!

